University of Oxford University of Reading


Conference on

Numerical Methods for Fluid Dynamics

12 - 15 April 2010


The Bill Morton Prize


Workshop on Optimization in Computational Fluid Dynamics

University of Reading


This was the tenth international conference on CFD organised by the ICFD (Institute for Computational  Fluids Dynamics), a joint research organisation at the Universities of Oxford and Reading.  The aim of the conference, as in previous years, is to bring together mathematicians, engineers and other scientists in the field of computational fluid dynamics to review recent advances in mathematical and computational techniques for modelling fluid flows.

Invited Speakers were:

Michael Edwards (Swansea)
Bengt Fornberg (Colorado)
Emmanuel Hanert (Université Catholique de Louvain)
Peter Jan van Leeuwen (Reading)
Jan Dirk Jansen (Delft)
Patrick Jenny (ETH)
Dean Oliver (Oklahoma)
Volker Schultz (Trier)
Mikhail Shashkov (LANL)
Jaap Van der Vegt (Twente)
Tim Warburton (Rice)

Andy Wathen (Oxford)

The broad themes of the conference encompassed Optimisation in CFD, Higher Order Methods, Adaptivity and Uncertainty. The conference featured applications of fluid modelling and computation to areas such as aeronautics, medicine, microfluids, and the environment, including meteorology, oceanography and hydrology.  The emphasis was on the development, analysis, and use of techniques, rather than on the results of computations.

In addition to invited lectures the programme  included contributed talks of twenty minutes and poster sessions. 


Click here for the programme.


Call for Papers

The call for papers was over subscribed. In addition to the invited speakers, 5 papers were chosen for the special Bill Morton Prize session, together with 43 contributed oral presentations and 50 posters. 


Workshop on Optimization in Computational Fluid Dynamics

Incorporated within the ICFD 2010 meeting was a workshop on Optimization in Computational Fluid Dynamics, sponsored by the European Science Foundation OPTPDE  (Optimization with PDE Constraints) Network.   Three speakers gave invited talks as part of the workshop. Contributed presentations were also made and funding was available to support a limited number of contributors at the conference presenting papers on the theory and applications of optimization in CFD.

The Bill Morton Prize

A feature of the meeting was the sixth award of “The Bill Morton Prize” for a paper on CFD by a young research worker within 5 years of obtaining their PhD.

Organising Committee:

Mike Baines (Reading)
Andrew Barlow (AWE Aldermaston)
Paul Dellar (Oxford)
Chris Farmer (Oxford)
Nancy Nichols (Reading)
Peter Sweby (Reading)


Enquiries regarding the conference should be addressed to:

Dr P K Sweby
Department of Mathematics
University of Reading
Whiteknights, PO Box 220
Tel: 44 (0) 118 378 8675
Fax: 44 (0) 118 931 3423